top of page
  • Writer's pictureDr. David Della Morte Canosci


Updated: Nov 29, 2021

The term chakra (Sanskrit) means ‘wheel’ or ‘circle’ and it is often used to represent the energy centres of our body, whose task is to of receive and then distribute our vital energy.

According to the Hindu religion, the main chakras are seven. Each chakra has specific characteristics and it is associated with certain emotions, sensations and functions (both mental and spiritual). Furthermore, each of them occupies a specific position within the body and it is related to a specific endocrine gland. These glands have then the task of releasing hormones and their functionality is often compromised by the excessive stress levels the body is subjected to.

To reach a state of complete well-being, we must work on all aspects that characterize our body and our mind. Knowing the dynamics of the chakras, it is therefore possible to understand our energetic imbalances and restore the correct psycho-physical functions of the organism. And yoga can help us!


According to the theory of yoga, human beings are generated by two components: a physical body, visible, and an energetic body, which is invisible. The latter regulates mental and spiritual activity and it is made up of a form of vital energy which takes the name of ‘prana’.

Prana flows throughout our body thanks to special energy channels called ‘nadi’. These channels are very numerous (about 72,000) and they are grouped into three main categories: Sumshumna, Ida and Pingala.

Sumshumna is the main nadi and it begins its path at the base of the spine, ending at the top of the head. Ida and Pingala, on the other hand, are secondary nadis: they start from the base of the spine as well but then they continue in a spiral direction along the spine, up to the sixth chakra: Ajna (the third eye).

Practicing yoga is essential to awaken the energy that resides at the base of the spine (cradle of the first chakra) and then make it rise up along the body. This energy is called "kundalini" and it aims to restore the individual chakras to their regular functioning, repairing the damage caused by fear, anxiety and daily stress.


If you are going through a stressful time, you are feeling tired and burdened by the daily routine, it is very likely that your chakras are blocked. Your task is to identify which chakras are not working properly and bring them back to their balance correctly by means of yoga practice.

Here is a list of the seven chakras with a description of how the various related emotional blocks turn up:

  • First chakra: Mūlādhāra.

Mūlādhāra is located in the perineum. It puts us in contact with the Earth and it provides us with life energy and self-confidence. If you are experiencing feelings of fear, then it is very likely that the block occurs at this level. A weakening of the first chakra is often associated with physical fatigue, lack of strength, intestinal problems, inability to impose oneself, poor will to live and difficulty making decisions for fear of failure.

  • Second chakra: Svādhiṣṭhāna.

Svādhiṣṭhāna is located below the navel. Its task is to regulate the satisfaction of needs, emotions and creative fulfilment. If you are feeling guilty, then the problem is most likely at this level. A weakening of the second chakra is often associated with sexual problems, kidney problems, bedwetting, difficulty feeling pleasure, a tendency to hold back emotions, and an inability to let oneself go.

  • Third chakra: Maṇipūra.

Maṇipūra is located in the solar plexus. It gives us the power of intention and it regulates our actions. If you are feeling frustrated or ashamed, then it is very likely that the block occurs at this level. A weakening of the third chakra is often associated with digestive disorders, liver and biliary dysfunctions, diseases of the immune system, psychosomatic diseases, anxiety, nervousness and eating disorders.

  • Fourth chakra: Anāhata.

Anāhata is located in the heart. It is responsible for the feeling of deep love, inspiration and positive emotions. If you are experiencing deep pain or related emotional states, then it is very likely that the problem is at this level. A weakening of the fourth chakra is often associated with cardiovascular disorders, respiratory diseases, hyper and hypotension, emotional distress, inability to forgive and lack of trust.

  • Fifth chakra: Viśuddha.

Viśuddha is located in the gorge. It allows us to express our opinions, communicate with others and express our creative vein. If you are not living coherently your feelings and actions, then it is very likely that the block occurs at this level. A weakening of the fifth chakra is often associated with respiratory disorders, sore throat, problems with the mouth and teeth, difficulties in communication and verbal expression and fear of not being understood or not liked.

  • Sixth chakra: Ājñā.

Ājñā is located in the third eye. It is responsible for intuition and communication with the subconscious. If you are trying to escape reality, then the problem is very likely at this level. A weakening of the sixth chakra is often associated with vision problems, headaches, labyrinthitis, upper airway problems, difficulty in realizing one's ideas, lack of confidence in one's intuition and low willpower.

  • Seventh chakra: Sahasrāra.

Sahasrāra is located in the ‘fountain’, on the top of the head. It allows us to perceive cosmic energy. If you are feeling dependent on earthly things, then the block occurs most likely at this level. A weakening of the seventh chakra is often associated with headaches, phobias, mental problems, problems related to personal growth, inability to see the good things in life and excessive fear of death.

If you want learn more, the professionals of Palazzo Fiuggi can support you in this path in order to achieve a deeper awareness of well-being. In a future article we will recommend a series of practical Yoga exercises to help you effectively unblock your chakras. Subscribe to the newsletter and stay up to date!


bottom of page